Incinerator Art Award: Art for Social Change 2023 – Finalist

Janelle Low, Phuong Ngo

6 Oct - 19 Nov 2023



Incinerator Art Award 2023 is a nationally recognised exhibition dedicated to the theme of Art for Social Change. Incinerator Gallery is excited to invite entries from both emerging and established artists from all over Australia 

The Award provides a platform for dynamic and innovative artistic expressions, critical and experimental practices. Entries may encompass visual art, film, performance, writing, architecture or design  

Incinerator Art Award pays homage to Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony—the progressive architects who collaboratively designed the Essendon Incinerator in 1929—who believed art and architecture are ethical enterprises that should aim to bring about positive social change. 

With a total prize pool of $12,000, the Incinerator Art Award offers three prestigious awards, including the $10,000 Incinerator Art Award, the $1,000 Moonee Valley Mayoral Award and the $1,000 People’s Choice Award. 

Shortlisted artists will have their artworks displayed in the Gallery for the Incinerator Art Award 2023 exhibition. The opening night taking place on Friday, 6 October will see the announcement of the Incinerator Art Award and Moonee Valley Mayoral Award winners. 

Guest judges for the Incinerator Art Award 2023 are Andrew Tetzlaff, Jessica Clark, and Nathan Beard.