MY COUNTRY – NGV x Country Road First Nations Commission: National Gallery of Victoria

Johnathon World Peace Bush

22 Mar - 4 Aug 2024

The Country Road + NGV First Nations Commissions is a national, biennial mentorship and exhibition program that pairs emerging Australian First Nations artists and designers with one of eight esteemed industry mentors. Working collaboratively, the mentors each support and guide an emerging artist to create their most ambitious work to date.

Responding to this year’s exhibition theme of My Country, these new works are displayed in a major exhibition at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia.

The eight mentors each nominated an emerging artist for the Commission opportunity, which includes guidance through the conception, development and creation of a major work.

“This program presents an incredible opportunity to further our work in supporting First Nations communities, in a first-of-its-kind partnership that is led by First Nations artists,” Country Road managing director Elle Roseby said. “We’re thrilled to be working together with the NGV to platform inspiring creatives across the country, while celebrating their stories and increasing the recognition of First Nations cultures, histories and knowledge.”

NGV director Tony Ellwood the unique mentorship format offers “career-defining opportunity” to emerging First Nations artists.
“We’re grateful for the support of Country Road for this important new initiative,” Ellwood said. “This mentorship program has enabled NGV to cultivate important new relationships with First Nations practitioners across the country. “With the eight works entering the NGV Collection, this commission will enhance our ability to represent and profile our rich and diverse Indigenous communities.”

The inaugural recipients of the Country Road + NGV First Nations Commissions are:
Pedro Wonaeamirri (Mentor) and Johnathon World Peace Bush (NT)

Tony Albert (Mentor) and Warraba Weatherall (QLD)

Maree Clarke (Mentor) and Mitch Mahoney (VIC)

Peggy Griffiths (Mentor) and Jan Griffiths (WA)

Jonathan Jones (Mentor) and Sophie Honess (NSW)

Vincent Namatjira OAM (Mentor) and Alec Baker and Eric Barney (SA)

Denise Robinson (Mentor) and Cheryl Rose (TAS)

James Tylor (Mentor) and Aidan Hartshorn (ACT)