Rockhampton Art Gallery Gold Award: Finalist

Juan Ford

1 Jul 2012

Eight artists have been announced for the Inaugural $50,000 Gold Award for contemporary painting. The artists, selected by invitation are:

Jason Benjamin (NSW)

Kate Bergin (Qld)

Juan Ford (Vic)

Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori (Qld)

Ben Quilty (NSW)

Victoria Reichelt (Qld)

Kate Shaw (Vic)

Michael Zavros (Qld)

These artists, multiple and recent prizewinners in some of Australia’s most significant prizes including the Archibald and Doug Moran Portrait Prizes; and the Wynne and Arthur Guy Painting Prizes produces a high calibre, potent prize representing in many ways the crème-de-la-crème of contemporary painting.

Tracy Cooper-Lavery, Director of Rockhampton Art Gallery commented, ‘securing this prestigious group of contemporary Australian painters to launch this exhibition and award is very encouraging, providing a worthwhile opportunity for invited artists as well as the wider public to enjoy the competition. We are thrilled that audiences from Central Queensland will have greater access to this style of high caliber award and exhibition.’

The winning work will strengthen Rockhampton Art Gallery’s substantial collection of Australian art including works by John Brack, Fred Williams, Margaret Olley, William Robinson and Arthur Boyd.

The Gold Award honours the memory of Moya Gold, philanthropist and educator, who inspired and provided for this prize directly through a substantial bequest for the acquisition of Australian paintings. Designed as an invitation award to consider the best of contemporary painting and build a substantive contemporary art collection, the most outstanding work or works by an artist will be awarded a cash prize of $50,000. The prize confidently elevates the Rockhampton Art Gallery into the company of state galleries and other significant awards For the inaugural prize artists have been offered the opportunity to submit more than one work as part of the prize, creating a fulsome and rich competition.