Prime Ministers Series: TarraWarra Biennial 2016

Vincent Namatjira

19 Aug - 16 Nov 2016

Vincent Namatjira has been selected for the TarraWarra Biennial 2016: Endless Circulation.  Curated by Victoria Lynn, Director of TarraWarra Museum of Art, and Helen Hughes, co-founder of Discipline journal, the exhibition considers principles of the edition, circulation, dispersion and continuity.

“Both biennials and journals take the form of an edition. They are continuous, one edition after another, but punctuated by pauses. As well as being additive or iterative, biennials and journals produce contrasting modes of circulation. Where biennials typically bring artists and artworks from all around the world to one place for a designated period of time (a centripetal movement), journals disperse—they move away from their site of origin through postal systems, emails and downloads (a centrifugal movement).”

Namatjira’s work explores notions of continuity – a number of the works bring past and present together in the same frame, and his new series captures the seven Prime Ministers that have been in power in Australia during his lifetime so far. The works are filled with humour, boldness and personality.

Namatjira joins an impressive line up of artists in the 2016 Biennial including Vernon Ah Kee, Helen Johnson, Wukun Wanambi, Sarah crowEst and Agatha Gothe-Snape.

TarraWarra Museum of Art