YHONNIE SCARCE: Bowness Photography Prize 2023 – Finalist

William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

The prestigious William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize, highly regarded as one of Australia's most esteemed photography awards, has unveiled its finalists for the much-anticipated 2023 edition. The panel of judges consisting of Rhana Devenport ONZM, the Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia, Adelaide and acclaimed artist Michael Cook, alongside Anouska Phizacklea, Director of MAPh, faced the exhilarating task of selecting 66 artists from a pool of over 640 outstanding submissions.

The selected finalists for the 2023 Bowness Photography Prize exemplify the immense depth of talent present in the contemporary Australian photographic arts scene. Their works, crafted over the past year, offer a diverse and captivating snapshot of the state of photography in Australia today. The exhibition will provide art enthusiasts and the general public with a unique opportunity to witness the extraordinary creativity and innovation prevalent in Australian photography.

2023 Finalists:

Grace Allen, Ashe, Robert Ashton, Alison Bennett, Madeline Bishop, Tom Blachford, Jane E Brown, Jane Burton, Anna Carey, Patricia Casey, Danica Chappell, Renato Colangelo, Michael Corridore, Zo Damage, Rory Daniel, Steve Danzig, Gerwyn Davies, Mikayla De Pasquale, Tamara Dean, Yask Desai, D-Mo, Rozalind Drummond, Stephen Dupont, Rhy Dyball, Robert Fielding, Murray Fredericks, Genevieve Ginty, Geoffrey Goddard, Tom Goldner, Rebecca Griffiths, Sammy Hawker, Ponch Hawkes, Shelley Horan, Nicholas Hubicki, The Huxleys, Minami Ivory, Inez Joakim, Pia Johnson, Ayman Kaake, Mark Kimber, Shea Kirk, Kelvin Lau, Janet Laurence, Putuparri Tom Lawford and Tobias Titz, Dylan Le'mon, Paula Mahoney, Jesse Marlow, Charles McKean, Danie Mellor, Kent Morris, Daniel Noone, Sonia Payes, Drew Pettifer, Izabela Pluta, Patrick Pound, Clare Rae, Yhonnie Scarce, Cassandra Scott- Finn, Jon Setter, Scotty So, Cyrus Tang, Hiromi Tango, Craig Tuffin, James Tylor, Justine Varga, Anne Zahalka

Exhibition dates | 21 September – 12 November 2023
Award announcement | Thursday 28 September 2023

See Media Release here